Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee

Program Co-Chairs

Christian Wagner
University of Nottingham
United Kingdom

Brief Bio
Christian Wagner received his Ph.D. in Computer Science in 2009 from the University of Essex, UK. He is currently a Professor of Computer Science at the University of Nottingham, and founding director of the Lab for Uncertainty in Data and Decision Making (LUCID). His research focusses on the capture, modelling & handling of uncertain data arising from heterogeneous data sources, with a particular emphasis on designing interpretable AI based decision support systems. In 2017, he was recognised as a RISE (Recognising Inspirational Scientists and Engineers) Connector by EPSRC. His work ranges from decision support in cyber security and environmental management to personalisation and control in manufacturing. He has led a series of research projects with partners from industry and government with an overall value of around £10m and co/developed multiple open source software frameworks, making cutting edge research accessible to research communities beyond computer science. Dr Wagner is an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Fuzzy Systems journal, Chair of the IEEE CIS Technical Committee on Fuzzy Systems and Task Force on Cyber Security; elected member-at-large of the IEEE Computational Intelligence Society (CIS) Administrative Committee for 2018-2020. He is a General Co-Chair of Fuzz-IEEE 2021 in Luxembourg, Europe. ... More >>

Jonathan Garibaldi
University of Nottingham
United Kingdom

Brief Bio
Prof Jon Garibaldi's main research interest is in the modelling of human decision making, primarily in the context of medical applications. His work to date has concentrated on utilising fuzzy logic to model the imprecision and uncertainty inherent in medical knowledge representation and decision making. This has been applied in areas such as classification of breast cancer, identification of Alzheimer's disease, and the assessment of immediate neonatal outcome. A particular interest is in the transfer of medical intelligent systems into clinical use and this has led to the study of methods of evaluating intelligent systems and mechanisms for their implementation. Prof Garibaldi also has an interest in generic machine learning, such as clustering, classification and optimisation, particularly when applied to the optimisation of decision making models, and in the study of adaptive and time-varying behaviour. ... More >>


Ajith Abraham, Machine Intelligence Research Labs (MIR Labs), United States
Jesús Alcalá-Fdez, University of Granada, Spain
Thomas Baeck, Leiden University, Netherlands
Alper Basturk, Erciyes University, Turkey
Fernando Bobillo, University of Zaragoza, Spain
Ahmed Bufardi, Independent Researcher, Switzerland
Ivo Bukovsky, Czech Technical University in Prague, Czech Republic
Pablo Carmona, University of Extremadura, Spain
Giovanna Castellano, University of Bari, Italy
France Cheong, RMIT University, Australia
Pedro G. Coelho, State University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Martina Dankova, University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
Irene Diaz, University of Oviedo, Spain
António Dourado, University of Coimbra, Portugal
El-Sayed El-Alfy, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia
Stefka Fidanova, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Bulgaria
Yoshikazu Fukuyama, Meiji University, Japan
Francisco Gómez Vela, Pablo de Olavide University, Spain
Hazlina Hamdan, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Malaysia
Oussama H. Hamid, University of Nottingham, United Kingdom
Thomas Hanne, University of Applied Arts and Sciences Northwestern Switzerland, Switzerland
Rainer Heinrich Palm, Örebro University, Sweden
Christopher J. Hinde, Loughborough University, United Kingdom
Wladyslaw Homenda, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
Katsuhiro Honda, Osaka Metropolitan University, Japan
Wei-Chiang Hong, Asia Eastern University of Science and Technology, Taiwan, Republic of China
Alexander Hošovský, Technical University of Kosice, Slovak Republic
Gareth Howells, University of Kent, United Kingdom
Chih-Cheng Hung, Kennesaw State University, United States
Waldemar Karwowski, University of Central Florida, United States
Christel Kemke, University of Manitoba, Canada
Etienne Kerre, Ghent University, Belgium
DaeEun Kim, Yonsei University, Korea, Republic of
Frank Klawonn, Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences, Germany
László T. Kóczy, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary
Ondrej Krejcar, University of Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Pavel Krömer, VSB Ostrava, Czech Republic
Anne Laurent, Lirmm, Montpellier University, France
Edwin Lughofer, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Francisco G. Lupianez, Univ. Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Penousal Machado, University of Coimbra, Portugal
Francisco Martínez Álvarez, Pablo de Olavide University of Seville, Spain
Luis Martinez Lopez, University of Jaén, Spain
Corrado Mencar, University of Bari, Italy
Chilukuri K. Mohan, Syracuse University, United States
José M. Molina, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
Javier Montero, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Pawel B. Myszkowski, Wroclaw University of Technology, Poland
Vesa Niskanen, Univ. of Helsinki / VM University, Finland
Vilém Novák, University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
Schütze Oliver, CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico
Basar Oztaysi, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
Parag Pendharkar, Pennsylvania State University, United States
Irina Perfilieva, University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
Radu-Emil Precup, Politehnica University of Timisoara, Romania
Joaquim Reis, ISCTE, Portugal
Colm O. Riordan, National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
Roseli F. Romero, University of São Paulo, Brazil
Jose de Jesus Rubio, Instituto Politecnico Nacional, Mexico
Daniel Sánchez, University of Granada, Spain
Miguel A. Sanz-Bobi, Comillas Pontifical University, Spain
Alon Schclar, The Academic College of Tel-Aviv Yaffo, Israel
Patrick Siarry, University Paris 12 (LiSSi), France
Mu-Chun Su, National Central University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Hooman Tahayori, Ryerson University, Canada
Tatiana Tambouratzis, University of Piraeus, Greece
Dat Tran, University of Canberra, Australia
Carlos M. Travieso-González, Universidad de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Leonilde Varela, University of Minho, School of Engineering, Portugal
José Luis Verdegay, University of Granada, Spain
Salvatore Vitabile, University of Palermo, Italy
Michael N. Vrahatis, University of Patras, Greece
Chung-Hsing Yeh, Monash University, Australia
Hao Ying, Wayne State University, United States
Slawomir Zadrozny, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Cleber Zanchettin, Federal University of Pernambuco, Brazil
Hans-Jürgen Zimmermann, ELITE (European Laboratory for Intelligent Techniques Engineering), Germany