Home      Log In      Contacts      FAQs      INSTICC Portal

Program Committee


José M. Cadenas
University of Murcia

Brief Bio
José M. Cadenas is currently a Professor in Computer Science in the Department of Information Engineering and Communications of the University of Murcia, Spain. He received the Ph.D. in Sciences from the University of Granada, Spain. He is head of HeuriMind Lab (laboratory of "Heuristic models for Intelligent Decision Systems") and member of the research group “Intelligent Systems and Telematic” of the University of Murcia. He has published extensively in the areas of Fuzzy Systems, Heuristics Algorithms in Uncertain Environments, Soft Computing applied to Optimization Problems, Data Mining and Machine Learning, and Intelligent Cooperative Systems, including more than 165 refereed original research papers in journals, book chapters, and in conference proceedings; and he is a member and has coordinated more than 25 national and international research projects. He is member of international associations related to his area of interest (IEEE-CI, IEEE-SMC, EUSFLAT, …) and member of several networks related to Data Mining and Soft Computing. He also participates in various scientific activities as organizing conferences, member of program committees, reviewing projects and papers. ... More >>

António Dourado
University of Coimbra

Brief Bio
Full Professor of FCTUC/Scientific Director of Soft Computing and Automation Group of Center for Informatics and Systems of the University of Coimbra (CISUC), since 2002. Has been and is teaching courses on Systems Engineering, Automatic Control, Instrumentation, Fuzzy Systems, Neural Networks, Theory of Computation, General Management, to Engineering Students and MSc Students, in Informatics Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Biomedical Engineering. Has been and is involved in international (namely in EU FP7 ) and national projects (in collaboration with industry) , including some Networks of Excellence. He was the coordinator of the European project EPILEPSIAE- Evolving Platform for improving the Living Expectations of Patients Suffering from Ictal Events, researching algorithms for EEG-ECG processing for epileptic seizures prediction. He is author or co-author of more than 200 international publications in referred journals, book chapters and conferences. He is member of IEEE and has been co-founder of European Control Association and Portuguese Association of Automatic Control (IFAC National Member), has been active in the international scientific community, organizing conferences, integrating Technical and Program Committees, reviewing projects and papers. Main research interests: Computational Intelligence, Signal Processing, data mining for medical and industrial applications, and intelligent control. ... More >>


Rafael Alcala, University of Granada, Spain
Sansanee Auephanwiriyakul, Chiang Mai University, Thailand
Ahmed Bufardi, Independent Researcher, Switzerland
Jinhai Cai, University of South Australia, Australia
Daniel A. Callegari, PUCRS Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Heloisa Camargo, UFSCar, Brazil
Alejandro Carrasco Muñoz, University of Seville, Spain
João P. Carvalho, INESC-ID / Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal
Giovanna Castellano, University of Bari, Italy
France Cheong, RMIT University, Australia
Mikael Collan, Lappeenranta University of Technology, Finland
Shuang Cong, University of Science and Technology of China, China
Keeley Crockett, Manchester Metropolitan University, United Kingdom
Martina Dankova, University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
Scott Dick, University of Alberta, Canada
Pietro Ducange, University of Pisa, Italy
Mario Fedrizzi, Independent Researcher, Italy
János Fodor, Obuda University, Hungary
Yoshikazu Fukuyama, Meiji University, Japan
Alexander Gegov, University of Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Brunella Gerla, University of Insubria, Italy
Maria Angeles Gil, University of Oviedo, Spain
Sarah Greenfield, De Montfort University, United Kingdom
Masafumi Hagiwara, Keio University, Japan
Susana Muñoz Hernández, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM), Spain
Katsuhiro Honda, Osaka Metropolitan University, Japan
Chih-Cheng Hung, Kennesaw State University, United States
Cengiz Kahraman, Istanbul Technical University, Turkey
Uzay Kaymak, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Frank Klawonn, Ostfalia University of Applied Sciences, Germany
Li-Wei L. Ko, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Anne Laurent, Lirmm, Montpellier University, France
Chin-Teng Lin, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Ahmad Lotfi, Nottingham Trent University, United Kingdom
Edwin Lughofer, Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Luis Magdalena, Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain
Francesco Marcelloni, University of Pisa, Italy
Corrado Mencar, University of Bari, Italy
Ludmil Mikhailov, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
Javier Montero, Complutense University of Madrid, Spain
Hiroshi Nakajima, Omron Corporation, Japan
Vesa Niskanen, Univ. of Helsinki / VM University, Finland
Yusuke Nojima, Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
Vilém Novák, University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
Parag Pendharkar, Pennsylvania State University, United States
Irina Perfilieva, University of Ostrava, Czech Republic
David Picado, European Centre for Soft Computing, Spain
Valentina Plekhanova, University of Sunderland, United Kingdom
Daowen Qiu, Sun Yat-sen University, China
Jordi Recasens, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Spain
Antonello Rizzi, Università di Roma "La Sapienza", Italy
Alessandra Russo, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
Jurek Sasiadek, Carleton University, Canada
Steven Schockaert, Cardiff University, United Kingdom
Dipti Srinivasan, , Singapore
Petr Štemberk, Czech Technical University, Czech Republic
Laszlo T. Koczy, Szechenyi Istvan University, Hungary
Hooman Tahayori, Ryerson University, Canada
Dat Tran, University of Canberra, Australia
Hamid Vakilzadian, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, United States
Maria L. Velloso, Rio de Janeiro State University, Brazil
Wen-June Wang, National Central University, Taiwan, Republic of China
Dongrui Wu, Independent Researcher, United States
Chung-Hsing Yeh, Monash University, Australia
Jianqiang Yi, Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
Hans-Jürgen Zimmermann, ELITE (European Laboratory for Intelligent Techniques Engineering), Germany

(list not yet complete)